Skip to content ↓

Two-tier education change

Have you got a question about the reorganisation of education in Central Bedfordshire into a two-tier system? We've tried to answer some of the more common queries you may have below.

Our aim is to continually update this section as plans advance and the move towards two-tier gets nearer. 

If you can't find the answer you're looking for please email and we'll respond to your questions.

At the bottom of this page, you can also find copies of our BEST Two-Tier Update newsletters to view and download.



It’s the system of education that most of the UK operates on, with primary schools for children aged 4-10 (Reception and Years 1-6) and secondary schools for ages 11 and over (Years 7-11).

What is the education system in Central Bedfordshire?

Historically, Central Bedfordshire has followed the three-tier system – lower schools for children aged 4-8 (R/Years 1-4), middle schools for those aged 9-13 (Years 5-8) and upper schools for older pupils (Years 9-11, plus sixth form provision).

However, schools are now allowed to change the age range they cater for and, with many schools now outside of local authority control, this has led to a mixture of different types of schools across the wider Central Bedfordshire area.

WHY are things changing?

The ability of schools to be able to change their age ranges, effectively taking on pupils from other schools at a different stage in their learner journeys, can be problematic. Those other schools could become unviable and be at risk of closure, as funding is based on pupil numbers.

A mix of different school systems in the same local authority area, as is the case in Central Bedfordshire, can also be confusing for parents.

To tackle this, and to cater for growth in the area, Central Bedfordshire Council has launched its Schools for the Future programme.

WHAT is the schools for the fuTURE PROGRAMME?

The strategic plan was designed to deliver the right schools in the right places as the area grows in the next 15-20 years. It is estimated that around 43,000 new homes will be built in the area by 2035 – meaning thousands more school places will be needed.

To help create local plans, and to support collaboration, schools have been organised into eight ‘cluster’ areas. The council is working with each cluster to consider growth implications and better understand the landscape in each area.

WHAT cluster are best schools in?

Eight of BEST’s 10 schools are in the Shefford and Stotfold cluster – Campton Academy, Etonbury Academy, Gothic Mede Academy, Gravenhurst Academy, Langford Village Academy, Robert Bloomfield Academy, Pix Brook Academy and Samuel Whitbread Academy.

Lawnside Academy is in the Biggleswade cluster, while St Christophers Academy is in the Dunstable and Houghton Regis area.

Central Bedfordshire Council is working separately with each cluster on plans where required, starting with the Shefford and Stotfold cluster.

What is going to happen to best schools?

Shefford and Stotfold cluster: Campton, Gothic Mede, Gravenhurst and Langford Village Academies, all lower schools, are set to become primary schools.

Etonbury and Pix Brook Academies will convert to secondary schools.

Robert Bloomfield and Samuel Whitbread Academies are to come together as a 0-18 all-through school.

Biggleswade cluster: Lawnside Academy will become a primary school and move 0.7 miles into the current Edward Peake CofE VC Middle School site. That school, in turn, is due to relocate to a new secondary location on land east of Biggleswade. These proposals are currently out to public consultation until 28 September, 2021.

Dunstable and Houghton Regis cluster: Schools in the area including St Christophers Academy are already able to provide enough school places to cater for the known housing growth.

when are changes due to be made?

Langford Village Academy is due to become a primary school in September 2021, to tie in with the conversion of Henlow Church of England Academy, a middle school, to secondary status.

The seven other BEST schools in the Shefford and Stotfold cluster will move to two-tier in September 2023.

Lawnside Academy is due to convert along with the rest of the Biggleswade cluster in September 2024.

What is BEST’s stance on the planned changes?

We are broadly supportive of Central Bedfordshire Council’s plans to move to the two-tier system, subject to five pledges being met. These are:

  1. The new 0-18 all-through school combining Robert Bloomfield and Samuel Whitbread Academies will have five primary classes, meaning there is space for 150 children.
  2. Children at Robert Bloomfield’s traditional feeder schools will be able to get a place in the secondary school part of the new all-through school.
  3. Campton Academy will become a two form of entry primary school on a new site.
  4. There will be additional sixth form provision on the Samuel Whitbread and Etonbury/Pix Brook sites.
  5. Central Bedfordshire Council and BEST will develop a joint solution to all PFI-related issues on the Samuel Whitbread site.

how can I find out more about the plans?

We will be issuing a regular BEST Two-Tier Update newsletter to keep parents, staff and the wider community in both the Shefford and Stotfold and Biggleswade clusters informed about the latest developments. You can read and download copies of all issues below.

On a more local level, our schools will also be keeping their pupils and families updated with regular tailored information. You can contact them directly via your usual channels with any specific queries.

You can also visit Central Bedfordshire Council’s dedicated website at